RVAmag.com reviews I Am My Enemy

Here’s what they had to say;

“Oregon native IAME(I-am-me) has no problem confronting and questioning his role in society and constantly challenging it. On his sophomore album I Am My Enemy he gets personal. Confronting the generalities in Hip Hop that too many people think make you “real” such as bling, Escalades and proper gear, IAME examines his place with in the music industry and his community. This becomes apparent on such tracks as “Unlikely Candidate”. Speaking about Portland, where he lives, “Home to fake gangsters/and real hoodlums/who look at me like I ain’t shit cause I ain’t got no jewels or rings/but skip the superficial shit/just let the music spin/this user friendly way I speak truth has got them tuning in”. More then just a treatise on the superficialities of Hip Hop, the song speaks about Portland’s history citing a situation not unlike the Katrina disaster in New Orleans which happened in 1943 at Van Port City, Oregon.

I Am My Enemy will keep your body moving and your head bangin’. You’ll gain a little knowledge with each nod.

-Christian Hendrickson”

You can check out RVA’s site here. You can purchase IAMe albums and t-shirts in our online store.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

